Loughnane-Moraes to kick off 2023 PFL season

MMA news

The PFL’s 2023 regular season will officially kick off in April, with a three-week series of events at Virgin Hotel in Las Vegas.

The season encompasses six weight classes: heavyweight, light heavyweight, welterweight, lightweight, featherweight and women’s featherweight. The first round of season matchups will take place across three events scheduled on April 1, 7 and 14.

All three main and co-main slots feature the PFL’s returning 2022 champion.

A featherweight bout between Brendan Loughnane (26-4) and former UFC title challenger Marlon Moraes (23-11-1) will headline the first event. In the co-main event, Rob Wilkinson (17-2) will meet another former UFC title challenger in Thiago Santos (22-11).

On April 7, heavyweight Ante Delija (23-5) will meet Yorgan De Castro (9-3). Larissa Pacheco (19-4), who upset two-time women’s lightweight champion Kayla Harrison in the 2022 finals, will take on former Bellator MMA champion Julia Budd (16-5) in the new women’s featherweight division.

Capping off the first round on April 14, lightweight Olivier Aubin-Mercier (17-5) will take on free agent acquisition Shane Burgos (15-3). Welterweight Sadibou Sy (13-6-2) will face Jarrah Al-Silawi (18-4).

The PFL is the only major MMA promotion to follow a regular-season format, which includes single-elimination playoffs and finals. Additionally, the PFL hosts its Challengers Series for up-and-coming prospects and a recently announced pay-per-view division, which includes professional boxer Jake Paul.

Products You May Like

Articles You May Like

Cory Sandhagen and Holly Holm emphatically keep their names in the title picture
UFC San Antonio Bonuses: Finishers banked an extra $50,000
Racing champion Max Wilson explains how martial arts training helped driving career
USA TODAY Sports/MMA Junkie rankings, March 21: Leon Edwards climbs P4P
Chidi Njokuani glad he didn’t get to the UFC earlier: ‘I would’ve f*cked it all up’

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *